Home > Surgeon Finder > Dr. Patrick McCarthy, MD

Dr. Patrick McCarthy - Heart Surgeon

Registered Heart Valve Surgeon - Download Dr. McCarthy's Profile

Dr. Patrick McCarthy

Northwestern Memorial Hospital
675 N St. Clair Street
Chicago, IL 60611

(888) 531-7541

Contact Surgeon
wwa

About Me

Patient Reviews (41)

"I can't describe Dr. McCarthy as "cuddly" as far as demeanor. But, I was looking for someone to trust my life to -- not someone very personable. I was never anything but confident. His staff, particularly Janice, and the staff at Northwestern were terrific."

Dirk Richmond
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 09/16/2013

"Dr. McCarthy is an extraordinary surgeon. He is not one to hang around and shoot the breeze with his patients but he was there when I needed him (to explain the process and in the operating room) and he took the time to contact my Cardiologist in Miami to share all the pre- and post-surgery documentation. I am forever grateful to this fine physician."

Robert Winter
Mitral Valve, Tricuspid Valve, Valve Repair, 08/22/2013

"I strongly recommend Dr. Patrick McCarthy and his team at Northwestern! My surgery was complicated involving mitral valve replacement, Maze procedure and a septal myectomy.

Dr. McCarthy was highly recommended by my cardiologist. His confident manner put me at ease and he and his team did an excellent job. In fact, I'm sure they saved my life.

The cardiac team surrounding Dr. McCarthy are the best including Dr. Robert Silverburg and the team of nurses. Their care both pre-surgery and afterwards are excellent. My entire experience at Northwestern Memorial Hospital was outstanding!"

Michele Neilson
Mitral Valve, Valve Replacement, Median Sternotomy, Maze Procedure, 08/08/2013

"From the moment I met Dr. McCarthy, I was put at ease by how he explained everything and took the time to answer all of my questions. He replaced my aortic valve with a bovine valve and I have never felt this good. I was in the hospital for 6 days and immediately noticed that I could breath better and wasn't getting dizzy anymore. I get compliments all the time about how good my scar looks, and I even went in to get a follow up echocardiogram to check how the valve was working and the tech was shocked that I had no scar tissue and how well inside I was already healed after only 3 months. She had no idea who my surgeon was because I live about 3 hours away from where I had my surgery. She just kept saying, "Wow! Your surgeon did an amazing job. I've been doing this job for 15 years and I've never seen a patient at 3 months look this good inside." I would recommend Dr. McCarthy to everyone! He's the very best. My 3 babies and I are so thankful to him for giving me a 2nd chance."

Stephanie Friel
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, Median Sternotomy, 06/25/2013

"Results - Excellent. I would recommend Dr. McCarthy and his team. My recovery has been remarkable per my friends and family."

David Kohlfeld
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 06/21/2013

"We were so happy to be referred to Northwestern Memorial and Dr. McCarthy by our local cardiologist, Dr. Sehgal. He set an appointment to meet with Dr. Silverberg and Dr. McCarthy. Dr. McCarthy asked me about my activity level and explained the surgery would eventually be needed but was elective at this point. I decided to have the surgery done now. A date was set and the surgery went very well with no surprises. Dr. McCarthy visited me later and explained that I was doing well. I had the surgery on Wednesday morning and was released on Sunday afternoon. I started a walking regimen on Monday starting with a mile and increasing to two miles after a few days. I was riding my bike 10 miles or more after four weeks. I highly recommend Dr. McCarthy and Northwestern Memorial Hospital."

Peter Brannen
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, 05/08/2013

"Dr. Patrick McCarthy, MD was highly professional with excellent bedside manner and outstanding assistants and support personnel."

Gene Griffin
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, Median Sternotomy, 11/08/2012

"Doctors have always noticed a heart murmur during routine visits throughout my life but told me not to worry about it until I was older. Then, right after my 54th birthday, I was diagnosed with mitral heart valve regurgitation on the left posterior leaflet. Dr. McCarthy was recommended as the best surgeon to fix a paper thin heart valve, and Northwestern Hospital was recommended as the best place for recovery. I am grateful Dr. Bonno had the wisdom to push my surgery to a sooner date, since my health was rapidly declining. During my surgery, Dr. McCarthy was able to fix a small foramen ovale that was not visible on tests. I consider myself lucky to have had Dr. McCarthy, an experienced and updated surgeon, fix my heart that included unexpected findings. The nursing staffs in ICU and in the cardiac ward at Northwestern Hospital were phenomenal in my postoperative care. I heartily recommended Dr. McCarthy and Northwestern Hospital for anyone with heart problems."

Ann Ennesser
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, 05/09/2012

"I am totally satisfied with the surgery performed by Dr. McCarthy and his entire team of highly skilled professionals. His skill and judgment were exceptional and everything happened just as he said. I recommend to any patient who needs a heart valve procedure to consult this team, show up, and let Dr. McCarthy do his job. The aftercare was outstanding at Northwestern Memorial Hospital. "

James Fisch
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, Median Sternotomy, Maze Procedure, 04/09/2012

"I feel Dr. McCarthy performed a miracle. He has to be the very best heart surgeon for this type of procedure. His manner was so professional. I have never had better care anywhere. I healed so quickly. Nothing went wrong. I feel better now than I have ever felt. I have more energy. I thank god every day. If I had to do it again, I would."

Stella pett
Mitral Valve, Valve Replacement, 03/16/2012

"I had this valve replacement surgery after having two previous surgeries in attempt to repair my mitral valve. This one was very successful in every respect. At this time, I am feeling well and am at about 80% of the physical capability that I hope to reach, hopefully in the next year. At the present time, I am walking 30 min daily and do out door work with little shortness of breath. I look forward to continuation of down hill skiing this coming winter (as discussed with Dr. McCarthy at time of surgery). "

Giles Blaser
Mitral Valve, Tricuspid Valve, Valve Repair, Valve Replacement, Maze Procedure, 03/08/2012

"One year after having my aortic valve replaced at Northwestern Memorial Hospital by Doctor Patrick McCarthy I've lost 70 pounds and I am swimming 45 minutes a day. I now have energy to burn."

Joe Poracky
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 01/19/2012

"My Aortic valve was in the severe state and the mitral valve was on it's way out also. I'm from Rockford, Illinois and the doctors there kept stalling because I had radiation damage to my heart caused by Hodgkins Lymphoma back in 1978. When I consulted with Dr. McCarthy, he was puzzled why the other doctors were dragging their feet. He said that 40% of his valve replacements were people like me. Doctor McCarthy and his team did a great job and are always there 24 hours a day for you after your release from the hospital. I would recommend them and this hospital to anyone. As I found out, not all surgeons have the skill level Dr. McCarthy has. Thanks to Dr. McCarthy and his team for helping me and my family during this ordeal. "

Curt Thorell
Aortic Valve, Mitral Valve, Valve Replacement, 12/13/2011

"Dr. McCarthy's confidence and demeanor was exactly perfect for me. I was reassured and totally confident he was going to achieve the very best outcome. Dr. McCarthy did exactly what he said he would. I hope I never need to have my heart tinkered with again. However, if I did, I would want him to do it. "

Jack Tusk
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, Median Sternotomy, 12/01/2011

"I am thankful that Dr. Patrick McCarthy did the surgery. He has excellent bedside manner and the surgery went well. I am happily recovering under the care of a local cardiologist, and now doing cardiac rehab locally. My aorta had expanded to the danger point. We found the right surgeon to do the work."

Martha Nunemacher
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, Root Replacement, 11/15/2011

"My name is Pierre Romeus. I'm here to testify that Dr. Patrick McCarthy saved my life. In the past 6 months I've had problems sleeping, breathing and walking. I was in and out of different hospitals and emergency rooms. A friend suggested me to see the No. 1 Cardiac doctor in Illinois and on November 11, 2011, Dr. McCarthy performed an Aortic Valve Replacement surgery on me. He gave me a new birth of life. Two weeks later I'm feeling better, breathing much better and life is normal again. Thank You so much Dr. McCarthy!"

Pierre Romeus
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 11/11/2011

"Just over one week ago, I had my aortic valve replaced by Patrick McCarthy, MD at Northwestern Memorial Hospital. I can't believe how great I feel. I have so much energy and I feel like my heart is working better than ever. Dr. McCarthy and his team have provided me with extraordinary care throughout this entire process. Prior to my surgery, Dr. McCarthy took the time necessary to provide me with all the details surrounding my procedure and valve selection while answering all our questions and giving me the confidence to quickly schedule my surgery. While I was in the hospital, I was visited many times by Dr. McCarthy and his cardiac team members, who were extremely skilled and very patient focused. They were always ready to answer another question or to take extra time with me. Since returning home, I have received several home health visits and phone calls from Dr. McCarthy's team to keep up with my progress and to fulfill Dr. McCarthy's continued recovery regime. I strongly recommend Dr. McCarthy and his cardiac team at Northwestern!"

Michael Milligan
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 10/10/2011

"We were so pleased with Patrick McCarthy, MD. He was highly recommended, which is why we traveled 128 miles for this surgery. Recovery is going well. Dr. McCarthy and his staff, along with Northwestern Hospital in Chicago are highly recommended. "

jerry scogin
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, Maze Procedure, 07/26/2011

"Dr. Patrick McCarthy was able to do a complex mitral valve repair with a ring. The surgery went very well. When I saw Dr. McCarthy after the surgery, he said the mitral valve was no longer leaking, which made me smile."

Betty Butler
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, Median Sternotomy, 06/21/2011

"When I agreed to having open heart surgery, I was apprehensive about putting my life in someone else's hands. But, when I met with Dr. McCarthy, his confident and professional mannerism quickly put my fears to rest. He explained the surgical procedure and asked if I had any questions. His calm and easy going style gave me the assurance that I was with the right doctor. Of course it also helped that his reputation was exceptional. Dr. McCarthy successfully completed the surgery in less time time than we were told it might take. During my recovery, Dr. McCarthy stopped by my room to see how I was doing and kidded about our Notre Dame connection. My post surgical recovery went much better than I expected but again as Dr. McCarthy predicted. I was home within a week. After a couple of months, I enrolled in a cardiac rehab program associated with Northwestern Hospital. I completed the program and the program nurses commented about what good shape I was in after the surgery. It is now one year later and I am happy to report that I feel great and have more energy than I had before the surgery. I thank Dr. McCarthy and his wonderful skills for this. I would absolutely recommend Dr. McCarthy to anyone who requires this type of surgery. He is one of the best in the country. I have praised him repeatedly to my friends. I know that he has extended the life of my heart and with that has provided me with a better quality of life. Thank you Dr. McCarthy!"

Gregory Athas
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 06/20/2011

"Doctor McCarthy sat down with me before the surgery and answered all my questions. His bedside manner was business-like and serious, but friendly. I only saw him once after the surgery. Surgery and recovery are going well."

Maureen Birkett
Aortic Valve, Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, Valve Replacement, Median Sternotomy, 05/17/2011

"I am a 91 year old, very healthy, male. Patrick McCarthy, MD was truly a great inspiration. When others turned me down, he gave me hope. A little over 4 weeks and I am doing very well. A little slow, but to be expected. Dr. McCarthy took all the time I needed to explain the procedure, answer all my questions and what to expect. He did a wonderful job and he and his staff, as well as, Northwestern Hospital, treated me with great care and respect. I would recommend him to anyone who needs this type of surgery."

Beldon Rich
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, 05/02/2011

"I can't say enough about Dr. Patrick McCarthy. So professional, very talented, communicated everything so well. I can't imagine anyone doing a better job. Dr. McCarthy was fantastic."

Tony Spohn
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, Maze Procedure, 04/19/2011

"I also had an aortic aneurysm fixed along with my valve replacement. Doctor McCarthy was wonderful!! He took his time in explaining things to me in terms that I would understand. My surgery was a success! He is very caring and THE best heart doctor in Chicago."

Bev Thompson
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 03/28/2011

"Words simply cannot describe Dr. McCarthy, his team and the experience I had at Northwestern Memorial Hospital. My family was kept well informed during my 4-hour surgery, that started early, and finished in a timely manner. Dr McCarthy and everyone around him treated me very well. Although I only met with him a few times, my coincidence going into surgery was immediately bolstered."

David Cunningham
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, Median Sternotomy, 03/11/2011

"I lived in the Washington, D.C. area for approximately 40 years, when a significant mitral valve problem was detected during an annual physical. I was told by an expert at the Washington Hospital Center in DC (a well regarded cardiac program in DC) that I had a particularly difficult valve problem and that I would need a highly experienced and highly qualified surgeon to be able to do a repair as opposed to a replacement of the valve. Because we had family connections in the Chicago area, we preferred to do the surgery in Chicago. My own research indicated that Northwestern Memorial had one of the best heart surgeons in the country, Patrick McCarthy. However, I wanted to rely on my internist's recommendation because he has treated me for over 20 years and is widely respected in the Washington DC area. He recommended, without knowing my preference, that I see Dr. Robert Bonow then head of Cardiology at Northwestern. Dr. Bonow,as I later learned, is one of the top experts in the country in mitral valve issues. Dr. Bonow, after seeing me recommended, as I hoped he would, Dr. Patrick McCarthy. He believed that Dr. McCarthy could do this complicated repair while other doctors elsewhere might choose valve replacement. It was absolutely the right recommendation.Dr. McCarthy explained the surgery, told me he felt it was highly likely that he could repair it, and told me he could perform the surgery a week later. I said let's do it. My surgery was successfully performed January 28, 2011. I was in intensive care for about 2 days (the care was super), regular care for another 4-5 days, and was released. I began cardiac rehab in mid March, 2011 where I live out of state. I have to admit, it does take a while to regain your strength, but cardiac rehab did the trick. It has now been 15 months since the surgery and I have had no problems, no complications. All my tests since then have been fine, including a stress echo which I just took to see how my heart was doing a year later. I feel fine. I am very grateful to Dr. McCarthy and would gladly recommend him to anyone facing such surgery. I am grateful that all roads seemed to have led to Northwestern and Dr. McCarthy. "

Jeffrey Gibbs
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, 01/28/2011

"Very Professional. Doctor McCarthy had good understanding of the proposed procedure before surgery. Surrounded himself with excellent team. Result was quite good with recovery better than expected so far."

Linda Reents
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, Median Sternotomy, 01/03/2011

"We instantly liked Dr. McCarthy. He was very interested in me and answered all of my wife's questions -- especially about what valve he would use (bovine) and the fact that Northwestern hospital has all heart patients in private rooms which results in infection rates below 1%. When his assistant said that he had an opening, we said yes! My recovery has been excellent. Cardiac rehab began and now I'm walking over an hour each day and I work out with a trainer twice weekly. "

john difazio
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 11/02/2010

"Dr. McCarthy has great experience - all business - all confidence. His team is GREAT - extremely professional, proactive, caring, sensitive, resourceful."

Andy Pini
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, 07/26/2010

"Dr. McCarthy was very brief, all business, and did not spend much time with me after surgery. I am better. I'm happy with the results."

Carole Rice
Aortic Valve, Mitral Valve, Tricuspid Valve, Valve Replacement, Maze Procedure, 05/18/2010

"When I learned that I would be having heart surgery I was both scared and excited. Scared because it was major surgery and I had never had any surgery before and excited because I had the opportunity to have my valve repaired and hopefully, have a normal life expectancy. On 3-4-2010, Dr. Patrick McCarthy and his amazing staff repaired my bi-lateral prolapsed mitral valve. Dr. McCarthy specializes in various types of mitral valve surgeries and is considered to be one of the best in his field. Not only is he a talented surgeon, but he has the ability to relate to his patients. When I met with him the first time and he told me he was 95% sure that he would be able to repair my valve instead of replace it, I started to cry from happiness that I might be able to be repaired. At that moment he paused while describing the procedure and looked at me and said "clearly you would like to hear more about me being able to repair your valve"...he understood where I was at in that moment and paid attention to what I needed from him. You see my Wisconsin heart surgeon said that my valve repair was very tricky and that he only knew of two surgeons who would have a strong possibilty of repairing my valve instead of replacing it. and he referred me to Dr. McCarthy. At 41 years of age, a repair was in my best interest as opposed to a valve replacement. So, I traveled to Chicago and was fortunate that Dr. McCarthy took my case on. As I reflect upon Dr. McCarthy and his staff and the entire hospital experience, I am truly thankful from the bottom of my repaired heart!! "

Julie Poff
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, Median Sternotomy, 03/04/2010

"I briefly met Dr. McCarthy in a pre-scheduling interview. I did not see or meet with him pre-op or post-op. However, I was very happy with the result."

John Ristow
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 01/21/2010

"Dr. McCarthy's whole team at Northwestern Memorial was wonderful. They took very good care of me - listening to what my concerns were, visiting me every day, and making me feel at easy. I am thankful I found such a great doctor."

Rosa Bernardi
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 07/01/2009

"Superior!"

Christina Datta
Tricuspid Valve, Valve Repair, 05/05/2009

"Doctor McCarthy is an excellent surgeon and very confident with what he is doing. In my opinion, he is one of the best cardiac surgeons in USA."

Nikolay Nikolov
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, Mini Sternotomy, 04/09/2009

"Dr. McCarthy is exceptional doctor in a first class facility at Northwestern Memorial in Chicago. He has patents on certain valve replacement procedures."

Timothy Zajeski
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 02/03/2009

"I was extremely pleased with the result and hospitalized for only 6 days. Doctor Patrick McCarthy is in high demand and I chose him for his expertise in surgery. "

Stuart Upchurch
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, 07/15/2008

"Doctor McCarthy is an excellent surgeon. He is personable and professional. My surgery was a success and I am 100%. I feel great and I am back to a full and active life."

John Robbins
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, 12/18/2007

"I only remember seeing Dr. McCarthy once after the surgery, but I was wonderfully cared for by his whole team of doctors and nurses. I was extremely happy with the entire process and with the result. And, I experienced NO pain throughout!"

Charlotte Hartzell
Aortic Valve, Valve Repair, Valve Replacement, Median Sternotomy, 11/27/2007

"My experience can only be described as excellent. Patrick McCarthy, MD and his team explained the surgery fully and the choices I needed to consider. The pre-surgery prep was excellent. The informed consent procedures were spot on. (I know because I studied them years before.) The post-operative care could not be better both in the ICU and afterwards. I was in reasonably good shape prior to the surgery, and I'm sure that helped. Now if I could only lose the 8 lbs I gained during my recovery! But once by ounce, I will lose that eventually!"

Jerry Goldman
Mitral Valve, Valve Repair, 03/27/2006

"Dr. Patrick McCarthy is the finest surgeon to do an Aortic Stenosis. A kind, compassionte surgeon who performed a miracle task. Giving life back to me. I can now climb dunes and walk beaches. "

Shirley Medema
Aortic Valve, Valve Replacement, Maze Procedure, 05/18/2005

Specialties & Clinical Interests

My Greatest Strength

Education

Insurance Accepted

Map & Directions to Dr. McCarthy's Office

Watch Dr. McCarthy's video

 

Patient Testimonial

"We instantly liked Dr. Patrick McCarthy. My recovery from aortic valve replacement has been excellent!"

-- John DiFazio

See more testimonials for Dr. Patrick McCarthy